Home GuidesBusiness Travel Types of Kenyan Visas

Types of Kenyan Visas

by Biashara Kenya

Kenya like many sovereign countries of the world has a document that is granted to foreigners to enter and temporarily remain within the country. The document that is referred to as a Visa is offered in diverse categories with the Single Entry Visa being the default Visa for foreigners.

The types of Visa issued by Kenya include-:

Single Entry Visa
A single entry visa is issued for single entry to persons whose nationalities require visa to enter Kenya either for business, tourism or medical reasons. The visa is valid for 3 months before you travel. Present yourself to immigration control at the port of entry, you may be issued with a stay period not exceeding 90 days.

Fee: $51

The standard fee for multiple journey visas shall be US $ 100 for all nationalities.

Transit Visa
Transit Visas are issued to persons connecting through Kenya to other destinations for a period not exceeding 72 hours. Those connecting flights directly without leaving the airport don’t need to apply for Transit visas.

Fee: $21

Courtesy Visa
This is a visa issued to Diplomatic, Official and Service passport holders coming into the country on official duties, or transiting through Kenya to a third country for official business or duties. It is issued free of charge / gratis.

Fee: $0 (No Charge)

Referred visas (Category 3)
Category 3 Visas are for Nationals of Countries, Classes and Categories Of Persons Who Require Referred Visas according to the laws of Kenya. Find out which countries require Referred Visas here.

The government of Kenya launched online visa application services using the eVisa platform where can now apply and pay your visa online.


Countries exempt from Kenyan Visas

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.